Our people

Committed to community building and the protection and promotion of Antarctica
Our people

The New Zealand Antarctic Society is a New Zealand-based incorporated society. The Society is governed by a National Council made up of the Society’s Officers and representatives from each Branch Committee. There are three Branch Committees – Auckland, Wellington and Canterbury and a burgeoning national and international membership.

The Society’s structure and operations are defined in its constitution. This determines who can make decisions regarding the Society and its future and how those decisions are taken. The Council and Branch Committees meet regularly throughout the year.

The Society’s constitution sets out its objectives:

Patron

Peter Barrett, Emeritus Professor, Antarctic Research Centre, Victoria University of Wellington

National council

President Mariska Wouters president@antarcticsociety.org.nz
Secretary Myra Walton secretary@antarcticsociety.org.nz
Treasurer Lester Chaplow treasurer@antarcticsociety.org.nz
North Island Vice President Linda Kestle
South Island Vice President Margaret Bradshaw
Auckland Branch Chair Linda Kestle
Wellington Branch Chair Robin Falconer
Christchurch Branch Chair Shirley Russ

Auckland branch

Contact auckland@antarcticsociety.org.nz
Chair Linda Kestle
Secretary Roger McGarry
Treasurer Mike Wing
Committee Member Myra Walton
Committee Member Brett Fotheringham

Wellington branch

Contact wellington@antarcticsociety.org.nz
Chair Robin Falconer
Secretary David Lucas
Committee Member Peter Barrett
Committee Member Rebecca Pyne
Committee Member Christoph Kraus
Committee Member Fred Davey

Canterbury branch

Contact canterbury@antarcticsociety.org.nz
Interim Chair Shirley Russ
Secretary John Rogers
Treasurer Geoffrey Price
Committee Member Sue Stubenvoll
Committee Member Ursula Rack
Committee Member Anne Hunter

Additional national roles

Membership Officer Rebecca Pyne membership@antarcticsociety.org.nz

Editor Lester Chaplow editor@antarcticsociety.org.nz

Sign up to our newsletter

All the latest news directly in your inbox

The Society’s quarterly e-newsletter provides an important overview of key activity affecting the Antarctic region. Sign-up and keep up to date.