New Zealand Antarctic Society Science Subcommittee

Terms of Reference approved by Council 14 December 2019


From its inception in 1933 the Society was an influential lobby group for establishing a programme of exploration and scientific investigation in the Antarctic. Since the 1956-57 International Geophysical Year and the Commonwealth Trans-Antarctic Expedition, government-led research has been remarkably successful, though societal changes and technological advances have in the last decade led to complexities and issues in efforts to maintain and enhance the quality of NZ’s Antarctic research.

Subcommittee Mission
To provide an informed and independent voice for the protection and enhancement of NZ’s
long-standing scientific, environmental, and conservation interests in the Antarctic region.

Subcommittee Purpose
Recognising that:

The subcommittee will include between 5-8 NZAS members chosen and approved by Council to represent a variety of perspectives and experience in science in the Antarctic region. It will include at least one officer of the Society. Additional members may be co-opted where specific issues require additional support. Qualifications for the 5 current members are provided below*.

The subcommittee membership will be reviewed annually at each AGM. Members will normally be appointed for a term of three years. An additional term may be granted by the council.


Managing conflicts of interest
All Subcommittee members should ensure their advice to the Society does not seek to benefit any personal interests they may have in science-related matters, and that their advice is provided in the best interests of the Society. Potential conflicts of interest should be declared to the Society President who will determine whether to accept their advice on the issue of concern.

*Subcommittee membership and qualifications (December 2019)
Peter Barrett (chair), FRSNZ, FGS (Hon), NZAM, Emeritus Prof of Geology, VUW, Patron, NZAS
Margaret Austin, CNZM, CRSNZ, ex-chair, Christchurch City Council Antarctic Science Working Party
Robin Falconer, Director, Robin Falconer Associates, former Strategy Manager, GNS Science.
Clive Howard-Williams, FRSNZ, NZAM, Emeritus Principal Scientist, National Institute for Water &
Atmosphere, former Vice-President, Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research
Linda Kestle, Associate Professor & Chartered Building Professional, UNITEC, President, NZAS